Orphx’s State of Nature

Techno is a vast world, with a long history and some amazing sound production work. So it’s only to be expected that I’m always finding new artists who are solid dependable producers to the scene and which I should really have begun listening to earlier than this. Orphx falls heavily into that category.

I’ve seen his their name banded about in techno forums and tracklists for a few years and I haven’t until now properly checked his their work out. For that I apologise, there are only so many hours in the day and I’m always playing catchup with electronic music it seems. Which is no bad thing mind. It’s great discovering new music by established producers as well as new blood. And with the established producers there is always a larger back catalogue to delve into.

This mix, recorded back on May 20th this year is comprised of Orphx’s work and should serve as a wonderful introduction into their sound.

For over fifteen years, Orphx has been creating and exploring a grey area between minimal techno, noise, and electro-acoustic music. Using an assortment of synthesizers, samplers, feedback systems, and various homemade instruments, Orphx draws upon the darker fringes of techno, electro and dub, combining these elements with the experimental aesthetics of early industrial music.

The project began in 1993 as a trio consisting of artists Richard Oddie, Christina Sealey and Aron West. Early recordings and live performances used primitive equipment to produce psychedelic noisescapes. West left the group in 1995 to focus attention on noise project Tropism with collaborator Johnny Dark, while Oddie and Sealey began incorporating more rhythmic structural elements into Orphx.

Orphx has since gained a substantial international following as one of the pioneering acts within the European “rhythmic noise” scene, while making increasingly strong connections with like-minded artists on the experimental fringes of techno and electro. Oddie and Sealey have performed in numerous countries around the world, appearing alongside artists such as Alva Noto, Byetone, Hakim Bey, Esplendor Geometrico, Funkstorung, Istvan Kantor, Pan Sonic, Polmo Polpo, Venetian Snares, Vromb and many others. Oddie and Sealey have also collaborated on numerous audio/visual projects and exhibitions related to their musical output.

Orphx has released a number of influential albums and singles since the mid 1990s, combining elements of techno with power electronics (Fragmentation, 1996; Vita Mediativa, 1998) and electro-acoustic soundscapes inspired by “acoustic ecology” (The Living Tissue, 2001; Other Voices, 2002). More recent releases combine all of these approaches into new hybrids of synthetic / organic sound (Circuitbreaking, 2004; Insurgent Flows, 2005, Teletai 2008). The Division 12″ on Sonic Groove (2009) marks a new phase for the project, developing their unique sound and further blurring the boundaries between techno, industrial and dub.

Orphx – State of Nature

Orphx – Signal to Noise (Tropism mix) [Hands] Teletai 2008
Orphx – Nullity v2.3 [Hands] Vita Mediativa 1998
Orphx – Burning Flags (Surgeon mix) [Sonic Groove] Division 2009
Orphx – Refraction [unreleased] 2010
Orphx – Axial [unreleased] 2010
Orphx – Threshold [Hands] Insurgent Flows 2005
Orphx – Driftwork [unreleased] 2010
Orphx – Cracktest (Fluxion mix) [Hands] Teletai 2008
Orphx – Dispossession [Sonic Groove] Black Light 2010
Orphx – Alternation (Sleeparchive mix) [Hands] Teletai 2008
Orphx – Threshold (Substance mix) [Sonic Groove] Division 2009
Orphx – Cracktest [Sonic Groove] Division 2009
Orphx – Anima [Hands] 2010 Hands 2010
Orphx – Tensile [unreleased] 2010
Orphx – Possession [Sonic Groove] Black Light 2010
Orphx – Stillpoint [Sonic Groove] Black Light 2010
Orphx – First Light [Sonic Groove] Division 2009
Orphx –  Burning Flags (Surgeon mix) [Sonic Groove] Division 2009
Orphx – Nullity v2.3 [Hands] Vita Mediativa 1998
Orphx – Signal to Noise (Tropism mix) [Hands] Teletai 2008


Darkfloor Sound. A Label