Archives: review

December 31, 2011

the City of Bass crates 2011 review

Vocode’s Mad Wax lays down his 2011 essential electro releases with his City of Bass Crates column.

December 29, 2011

SOM Compilation 4 / Solar One Music

Blackmass Plastics review electro specialists Solar One Music’s 4th compilation, ft. The Exaltics, Morphology, ESS (DeFeKT), Clatterbox, Luke Eargoggle…

December 24, 2011

The Darkfloor 2011 review, part 1.

Part 1 of the Darkfloor 2011 review, ft Surgeon, Croms, Objekt, AAIMON, Dead Sound vs Videohead, Instra:mental, Kangding Ray, Radionasty, Hoth System, Lucy,

December 21, 2011

Chordata – Bringers of the Dawn / Militant Science

Glasgow’s shapeshifting, sometimes cat Chordata presents ‘Bringers of the Dawn’ for UK electro bass imprint Militant Science.

December 12, 2011

Edgeist – Landscapes on Enough Records

Delving into the work of French rhythmic noise producer Edgeist, comes their 5 track ‘Landscapes’ EP.

November 04, 2011

Dead Sound & VideoHead – Pench / Acroplane

This latest release by Dead Sound and VideoHead follows their recent release on Perc Trax and finds them at the home of Irish label: Acroplane Recordings.

November 02, 2011

Rory St John, Fridell + Xavi on Teskoba

Based in Belgrade, Teskoba Recordings have been craving out their own sonic footprint built on the foundations of proper headspace rich techno since 2008.

October 13, 2011

the Darkfloor Stalker 003

Heavy-hitting bidnezz this time round on the Swarm Intelligence penned Darkfloor Stalker, from intricate glitch-step to crunchy, sub-loaded breaks.

October 03, 2011

Rykard – Hell Bent / dedpop

From my first listen I knew I was going to keep coming back to Rykard‘s LP: Hell Bent. I’m fully enraptured by the 8 tracks covering 31 minutes that make up the 25th release for Derby based netlabel dedpop.

October 02, 2011

the City of Bass crates

Vocode’s Mad Wax lays down a couple of essential electro releases with his City of Bass Crates column.

September 21, 2011

Tomohiko Sagae – Deburring / Rodz Konez

UK techno imprint Rodz Konez presents Japanese artist Tomohiko Sagae’s ‘Deferring’ with 2 remixes from label head Makaton and Paul Damage.

July 26, 2011

Lifecycle – Correcting Fluid EP / Ricochet

Reviewed, Lifecycle’s new EP on his own electro + deep breaks imprint Ricochet Records.

July 14, 2011

Josco – 0611 / Somehow Recordings

We review ‘0611’ by Josco, released by Somehow Recordings – a 3 track collection built with almost pure sounding beat-less waves of shimmering drone

June 11, 2011

Inigo Kennedy – Vignettes (One) on Semantica

Inigo Kennedy’s track Cloudless finally drops on Semantica as part of his Vignettes (One) release.

May 29, 2011

T.R.O. – Communication on Maschinen Musik

Recommended electro breaks from the Maschinen Musik camp with T.R.O.’s two track Communication.

May 12, 2011

Gyu – Submerge EP

Mad-Tek’s Gyu has a new EP out on his own Coral Recordings. We took a listen and offer a review of ‘Submerge’

May 12, 2011

Ruby My Dear – Ginkgo EP

The 10th release for the commerical arm of the fruitful label Acroplane is on the horizon from Frenchman Ruby My Dear.

May 11, 2011

Nicolas Bourbaki – Functions Of One Real Variable / Topological Vector Spaces

Reviewed, Nicolas Bourbaki’s two tracker on Berlin breakstep label Furioso.

April 27, 2011

Bass Kittens – Click Death / Pretension

Recommended electro bass/breaks from Jon Drukman’s Bass Kittens project for his Pretension label.

March 04, 2011

Blackmass Plastics – Lickshot / Blue Velvet on Furioso

We review Blackmass Plastics’s new two tracker for Berlin breaks/bass label Furioso

December 21, 2010

Review / Somatic Responses ‘Clone Aware’ / Acroplane

We review Somatic Responses dub-glitch-step ‘Clone Aware’ album on Acroplane

December 06, 2010

Solar Chrome – Lord of the Bits on Maschinen Musik

we review Solar Chrome’s ‘Lord of the Bits’ EP, released on German electro/breaks specialists Maschinen Musik.

November 27, 2010

Isotroph’s ‘Passenger EP’ / Airflex Labs

we review Isotroph’s ‘Passenger’ EP for Airflex Labs.

November 24, 2010

Galaxian’s ‘Repent’ LP on Transient Force

excellent electro from Glasgow’s Galaxian. We review his ‘Repent’ EP, released on AS1’s Transient Force label.

October 26, 2010

Acroplane’s ‘Zero’ by T-Polar

we review ‘Zero’ by T-Polar, released on Acroplane Recordings

October 22, 2010

reviewed, Subeena’s ‘Neurotic’ / Opit Records

The Planet Mu signed Subeena drops her new release, Neurotic, on her own Opit Records. We take a listen and give our review.

September 27, 2010

Drugstore’s ‘Catarsis’ EP

we review the netaudio EP ‘Catarsis’ from Spanish techno collective Drugstore. Released on Subversive Media

September 13, 2010

Sclist’s ‘Mirrored’ EP / Urban Scrumping

we review Sclist’s excellent ‘Mirrored’ EP on Urban Scrumping