Mantis Radio 237 + Si Begg


London don Si Begg returns to Mantis Radio, and we’ve new music from Eatbrain, Merzbow, MSQ, Radioactive Man, Oxynucid, Wilhaeven, dBridge and Mathew Jonson.

RedPill – Rabbit [Eatbrain]
Malux, Crissy Criss & Erb N Dub – Listen Here [Eatbrain]
T. Power – Lipsing Jamring [Moonshine Music]
Jega – Geometry [Planet Mu]
Oxynucid – Croissant [Slurp Shit]
Mørk – Theia [Pregnant Void]
Wilhaeven – IV-IX-I [Ricochet Records]
IDLES – Mother [Balley Records]
Khost – Cloudbank Mausoleum [Cold Spring]
Merzbow – Torus 2 [Jezgro]
MSQ – Marginal [unreleased]
Milton Bradley vs Bloody Mary – Tales From Space [Dame Music]
Mathew Jonson – Decompression (Ambient Pressure Mix) [Freedom Engine]
Peder Mannerfelt – Public Images [Peder Mannerfelt]
Radioactive Man – Bonnet Bee [Asking For Trouble]
Cristian Vogel – Fiver [Kickin Records]

Kuniharu Akiyama – Arcana 19
Raymond Scott – Rhythm Modulator
Karlheinz Stockhausen – Struktur XIII B
Daphne Oram – Sea
Karlheinz Stockhausen – Hymnen (Excerpt)
Silver Apples – Oscillations
Tangerine Dream – Rubycon Pt1
Bernard Parmagiani – Ondes Croisees
Hawkwind – Electronic No.1
Hawkwind – Sonic Attack
Seesselberg – Kondensmusik
Harald Grosskopf – Earth
Cluster – Plas
Philip Glass – Montage (from Etoile Polaire)
Elektriktus – Second Wave
You – Electric Day (Si Begg 2017 Dub)
Negativland – Track 14
Caberet Voltaire – Messages Received
Negativland – Track 11
Esplendor Geométrico – Moscu Esta Helado
Kraftwerk – Pocket Calculator
Front 242 – Ethics
John Carpenter – Assault On Precinct 13 (Main Titles)
Suicide – I Remember
Crash Course In Science – Flying Turns
Imperial Brothers – We Come To Rock (Be Bop Scratch Mix)
Negativland – Time Zones
Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross – Perpetual
Mika Vainio – Kelvin
Si Begg – Parallel Air Ducts


Si Begg was one of our show’s early guests and was long overdue a return. With new album – Blueprints – imminent (June 16th c/o Shitkatapult), we hit him up for a second bout of session selections.

Celebrating raw electronics and its evolution from the 1950s to present day, taking us from Kuniharu Akiyama to Mika Vainio via Stockhausen, Oram, Cluster, Philip Glass, Negativeland, Tangerine Dream, John Carpenter and even Hawkwind.

This is a work of complex, evolving mathematical patterns, circuitry bent out of shape. It is a hymn to the voltage-controlled oscillator

Blueprints sounds incredible and is a great follow up his last album – Permission to Explode, released in 2013. He has written scores for four feature films since Permission, as well as several Netflix Original series scores. This composition work alongside his electronic music production has played a big influence in Blueprints.

The concept for the album sprang fully formed when Begg came across the notebook, a beautifully preserved leather-bound volume, annotated in his grandfather’s precise hand. The book was filled with meticulous diagrams of compressors and parallel air ducts, graphs recording comparative noise levels at different factories, statistical information detailing the thermal efficiency of power stations, alongside blueprints for futuristic machines yet to be built.

Those of you London based can catch the album launch, July 7th, at 4MationZone Presents Extractions in Stoke Newington’s Haunt. He’ll be supported by Cursor Miner, Ariadne’s Labyrinth and DJ Juan Nutkins (aka rANdOMoiDz).

Missed a show?
Catch up with the archives.